Property Tax Information

Property Tax Bills or a Tax Copy (when there is a mortgage request), are prepared and sent by July 1 and December 1 of each year. Summer taxes are payable from July 1 through September 14 without interest and Winter Taxes are payable from December 1 through February 14 without penalty.

Summer Tax Bills currently include State Education Tax (SET) Millage and Monroe County Allocated Operating Millage.

The winter tax bill generates revenues for the Monroe County Library System, Monroe County Community College, Monroe County Intermediate Schools, Monroe County Seniors, Lake Erie Transportation, additional voted School millage, local Township operations and the Resort Authority where applicable.

At the end of the winter tax season settlement is reached with the Monroe County Treasurer. During that process, all amounts collected (or uncollected) must be accounted for along with their appropriate apportionment to the aforementioned multiple taxing authorities.

The Township has over a 96% collection rate; meaning there are less than 4% of the property taxes that go uncollected during any tax season. The County of Monroe purchases taxes on real property turned over to them as delinquent from the Township. The County Treasurer’s Office is then responsible for the collection of the delinquent real taxes.

Delinquent “Personal Property” and other “Special” taxes that are uncollected as of settlement remain the responsibility of the Township Treasurer to collect.

Comments are closed.